Regions In Edo State

Edo State is a state in Southern Nigeria. Its capital is Benin City. The 2014 estimated population of the Edo state is 5 million people. It is made up of 4 major ethnic groups; namely; Edo (Binis), Esan and Afemai (Owan/Etsako) with Akoko Edo. However the State has a high presence of residents from across the country and the world because of its cosmopolitan tendencies. Benin City the capital has a history of being one of the foremost destinations of Europeans during their exploration of the African continent many centuries ago. Some of the flash points have remained tourist’s attractions for the state.

Currently, the population of the entire state is approximately 8 million, and it is the HEART BEAT OF THE NATION.


Edo State consists of eighteen (18) Local Government Areas. They are: Akoko-Edo, Egor, Esan Central, Esan North-East, Esan South-East, Esan West, Etsako Central, Etsako East, Etsako West, Igueben, Ikpoba-Okha, Oredo, Orhionmwon, Ovia North-East, Ovia South-West, Owan East, Owan West & Uhunmwonde.


The Benin (Bini) is a culture or ethnic group of people living in or around Benin City in Nigeria, often called Edo. They speak the Edo language and are the descendants of the founders of the Benin Empire. They are closely related to other ethnic groups that speak Edoid languages, such as the Esan, the Afemai, the Isoko and the Urhobo.

Benin City is the capital, and largest city of Edo State in southern Nigeria. It is situated approximately 40 kilometres (25 mi) north of the Benin River and 320 kilometres (200 mi) by road east of Lagos. Benin City is the centre of Nigeria’s rubber industry, and oil production is also a significant industry.


Esan (Ishan) people are ancient militaristic, highly homogeneous vibrant agro-fishery and Edoid-speaking people living in the Edo State, South-south geopolitical zone of Nigeria. Esan people who are said to be positive in outlook, creative, industrious and highly educated are one of the Nigeria`s major ethnic groups and live primarily in Edo Central Senatorial District in Nigeria. The people of Esan have a common language, custom and tradition.

Esan land is bordered to the south by Benin, to the south-east by Agbor, to the north and east by Etsako, to the west by River Niger. The land is about eighty kilometers North East of Benin City. By this factor of proximity and the fact that they share a basic cultural substratum, they are regarded as neighbours to the Bini (Bradbury, 1973: p. 48). From Ewu to Benin City, the State capital, is 100kms long. The people populate areas such as Uromi, Ewatto, Igueben, Iruekpen, Irrua, Ubiaja, Ebele, Ehor, Ekpoma, Egoro Eguare, Ewu, etc, all in central Edo State, South-South Nigeria.


Owan is an ethnic group in the Northern part of Edo State, Nigeria. They are one of the Edoid peoples.

Owan is currently made up of two Local Government Areas, namely: Owan East and Owan West, including so many clans; notable amongst them are: Ihievbe, Emai people, Iuleha, Ora, Igue, Uokha, Otuo, Ikhin, Ivbi-Mion, Ivbi-adaobi, Ozalla, etc.


Owan East is a Local Government Area of Edo State, Nigeria. The headquarters is in the town of Afuze. The Owan East Local Government Area comprises 69 towns/villages made up of eight clans (Emai, Igue, Ihievbe, Ikao, Ivbi-Mion, Ive-Ada-Obi, Otuo and Uokha).

Owan-East is bordered in the north by Akoko-Edo LGA, in the east by Etsako-West LGA, at the west is Ekiti State, and at the southwest by Owan-West LGA, while in the South are Esan Central LGA and Uhunmwonde LGA.

It has an area of 1,240 km2 and a population of 154,385 persons (81,847 males and 72,538 females) at the 2006 census.


Owan West is a Local Government Area of Edo State, Nigeria. It is one of the six Local Government of Edo north which are collectively referred to as Afemai. It headquarters is in the town of Sabongida Ora.

It has an area of 732 km2 and a population of 97,388 at the 2006 census.


Etsakọ people are one of the major ethnic groups in Edo State, Nigeria. They presently occupy three local government areas of Edo State; these are Etsako East, Etsako West and Etsako Central, with Agenebode, Auchi, and Fugar, as their administrative headquarters. In some quarters the people of Owan are also referred to as Etsako. The Etsako, Owan, and Akoko-Edo people are often referred to as the Afenmai (Edo north). This is due to their close linguistic and historical relationship. Local tradition of origin often trace their migration from Benin, which many oral traditionalists attribute probably to the 14th century. It is believed their ancestors must have settled in South Ibie before groups started moving to populate the other area they occupy. It is one of the three major ethnic groups in today’s Edo State, and the most populous ethnic group in Edo North. The loyalty of an Etsako man firstly is to his home/homestead, Village, Clan, and ethnic group. Also strong affinity between the Etsako people and their neighbors can be deduced in some customary rites, borrowed words, and even migration pattern. A good example is the “Ajinebode” myth of the Idah Igala who believe that the early founder or ruler of Idah was “Ajinebode”. This coincidence is worthy of further Historical elucidation since the mighty River Niger divides Idah in present-day Kogi State and Agenebode in Edo State.


Etsako Central is a Local Government Area of Edo State, Nigeria. Its headquarters is in the town of Fugar. It has an area of 660 km2 and a population of 94,575 in the 2006 census.

The following are the districts/areas in Etsako Central: Ekperi, Fugar-Avianwu, Okpekpe, Okpella, South Uneme & Three Ibies.


Etsako East is a local government council in Edo State, Nigeria with its headquarters at Agenebode. It has an area of 1,133 km2 and a population of 145,996 at the 2006 census. The district/area in this local government is Weppa-Wano.


Etsako West is a Local Government Area of Edo State, Nigeria. Its headquarters are in the town of Auchi. Etsako West is made up of six clans: Uzairue, Auchi, South Ibie, Anwain, Jagbe and Aviele. The major towns in this LGA includes Auchi, Jattu, Agbede, Ughiole, Iyamho, Iyuku, Ayogwiri, Apana, Iyora, Afowa, Afashio, Ikabigbo, Irekpai, Ogbido, Ayaoghena, Ikholo, Uluoke, Ugbhenor, Idato, Ayua, Imeke, Elele, Sabo Iyakpi, Ibienafe, Ughieda, Iyerekhu, Egbogio, Jagbe clan (Ikhwa, Imiokono, Inhianmhen, Imogian) and Awain clan {Ewora, Idegun, Ama, Ibhioba}. It has an area of 946 km2 and a population of 197,609 at the 2006 census.


Akoko Edo is a Local Government Area in Edo State, Nigeria. Its headquarters is in the town of Igarra. It has an area of 1,371 km² and a population of 262,110 at the 2006 census.

The following are the districts/areas in Akoko-Edo:
Akuku/Ewan, Central Akoko/North, Igarra/East Akoko, Ikpeshi-Egbegbere/Atje, Kakumo-Anyanran, North Akoko, North-East Akoko, Okpe-Ijaja, Okukusho/Central & Ososo.


[metaslider id=”22092″]


[metaslider id=”21995″]


[metaslider id=”22016″]